A Mega Weekend Of Close Enduro Racing In The Karkloof!

by | Jun 12, 2022 | Bike, Bike Events & Racing, Bike Race Reports

Karkloof – The 2022 edition of the STIHL Enduro at the Karkloof Club as part of the Sappi Karkloof Classic Trail Festival saw men’s and women’s favourites Keira Duncan and Sabine Thies claim the titles on Sunday.

A Mega Weekend Of Close Enduro Racing In The Karkloof!
The Outback Trails of the Karkloof brought the elevation and long trails to the party! Sisonke delivering a 7 minute race descent! PC: Rory Scheffer

This year’s event was a stand-alone weekend of gravity defying action that saw the Karkloof’s own Duncan dominate proceedings over the two days.

This is what the Sisonke Trail was all about!

Given the extensive entry into this year’s edition of the Enduro it shows how much the discipline has grown and how popular it has become in South Africa.

A Mega Weekend Of Close Enduro Racing In The Karkloof!
The junior riders in KZN are pinned! Ross Kew, pictured here, came away with 3rd overall and 1st in his Junior Category! PC: Rory Scheffer

The Karkloof region has become a mecca for Enduro racing given the wide trail network on offer and riders flock to the region to take on the famous trails.

Riders took on ten legs over the two days and Duncan’s overall time of 25 minutes and 21 seconds was one minute and 44 seconds quicker than Willie van Eck in second place.

A Mega Weekend Of Close Enduro Racing In The Karkloof!
The mix of indigenous forest, plantation and open grassland delivered a great variety of terrain and trail to race! PC: Rory Scheffer

Third went to Ross Kew just seven seconds behind Van Eck.

The women’s race was not quite as one-sided as the men’s race however Sabine Thies did dominate proceedings to claim the overall women’s crown.

POV From Stage 4 of the Stihl Karkloof Enduro

Thies was the 29th bike across the line in a time of 31 minutes and 27 seconds. She was 34 seconds ahead of second placed Lilian Barber.

Third place in the women’s race was Arielle Behr and she rounded out the podium.


1. Keira Duncan 25:21
2. Willie van Eck 27:05
3. Ross Kew 27:12
4. Jason Boulle 27:19
5. Philip van Schalkwyk 27:26
6. Omar Wilson 28:10
7. Dan Fowler 28:12
8. Keagan Brand 28:21
9. Cobus Esterhuyse 29:13
10. Andre Pretorius 29:23

1. Sabine Thies 31:27
2. Lilian Baber 32:01
3. Arielle Behr 32:30
4. Danika Botha 35:35
5. Tashane Ehlers 35:50

More info can be found at https://www.karkloofclub.co.za/events/sappi-karkloof-classic-trail-festival-2022/

Event Coverage